Basho Records logo
Let it be Told by Julian Arguelles and the Frankfurt Radio Big Band

Label Basho Records
Release Date: 17th March 2017
Title "Ruby And All Things Purple” Andy Scott
Catalogue Number SRCD 52-2



Andy Scott - tenor saxophone, bandleader, Rob Buckland - sopranino and soprano saxophones, Krzysztof Urbanski - soprano saxophone, Simon Willescroft - alto and soprano saxophones, Dave Graham - alto saxophone, Mike Hall - tenor saxophone, John Helliwell - tenor saxophone, Rob Cope - tenor and baritone saxophones, Chris Caldwell - baritone saxophone, Jim Fieldhouse - baritone and bass saxophones

Gwilym Simcock – piano, James Pusey – guitar, Laurence Cottle - bass guitar, Elliott Henshaw – drums

With special guests; Barbara Thompson - tenor saxophone ‘La Grande Image’ Jon Hiseman – drums ‘La Grande Image’





  1. Ruby And All Things Purple  7:47
  2. Sabretooth 4.55
  3. Chapters 8.47
  4. Eighteen 2.54
  5. Little Glass Box 5.09
  6. Group S 8:34
  7. Manyara 4:06
  8. Tin Can 5:32
  9. Serenade 5:22
  10. Sex Bomb 5:28
  11. Salt Of The Earth 4.38
  12. La Grande Image 5.38
  13. TOTAL TIME 68.65

Andy Scott is a highly versatile contemporary saxophonist and composer, with a distinctive musical identity that encompasses elements of jazz, world and contemporary classical styles. He is a winner of a BASCA composer award and has had a Tenor Saxophone concerto premiered by Branford Marsalis and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra under Clark Rundell at the World Saxophone Congress. He has toured extensively with the Apollo Saxophone Quartet and SaxAssault, including residencies around the world and sell out concerts at the London Jazz Festival.

The unusual line-up of Andy Scott’s Group S utilises a range of musicians drawn from the pop, jazz and contemporary classical worlds. All tracks are written with the specific musicians of Group S in mind, featuring virtuosic contemporary classical solos alongside creative improvisations, blending ensemble sound worlds and colours with space for each individual musician to bring their musical personality to the fore.

Ruby & All Things Purple features seven original compositions from Scott alongside ‘Sabretooth’ by Mike Hall, ‘Little Glass Box’ by Rob Cope and two pieces from Gwilym Simcock. Previously, Simcock had guested on a duo piece on Scott’s 2007 release Sax of Gold. Scott says of one of Simcock’s contributions: ‘I just gave him a sketch with some instructions as to the shape of the piece. He did in two takes and it’s just beautiful.’

Following an introduction that features the lyrical baritone saxes of Chris Caldwell & Jim Fieldhouse, the opening title track ‘Ruby & All Things Purple’ features an array of stunning soloists, including James Pusey (guitar), Duran Duran’s Simon Willescroft (alto sax), and the sensational Krzysztof Urbanski (soprano sax). Rob Buckland (sopranino sax), Jim (bass sax) & Elliott Henshaw (drums) display amazing style & virtuosity during ‘Eighteen’, blending a contemporary classical notated trio with true feel & groove. A soulful solo from Dave Graham (alto sax) in ‘Little Glass Box’ leads into the track ‘Group S’, composed by Andy & inspired by the great Wayne Shorter.

Meticulously arranged throughout, the music on Ruby & All Things Purple has the varied colours and thrilling drama of big band music alongside expressive improvising, strong individual contributions and exciting interaction.

Album distributed in the UK by Proper Music Distribution, The New Powerhouse, Gateway Business Centre, Kangley Bridge Road, London, SE26 5AN Tel: +44 (0)870 444 0799 Email:



+44 207 7242389